Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I?: FAQs

How Do I...

To start your research, check the research guide "Basic Steps To Research".

If you know the subject area of your topic, use a relevant reference resource such as a subject-specific encyclopedia. Credo Complete Core is an electronic reference database with an array of encyclopedias on various topics. In addition to subject-specific encyclopedias, background information can also be found in:

- Textbooks

- Dictionaries

- Article databases

- Wikipedia (check for bibliographies at the end of the article where you can find additional sources of information)

For print books, use the WCC Library Catalog,

and use this guide for eBooks and Audiobooks.

Use a relevant database to find articles on a specific topic. In addition to articles from academic journals, trade journals, magazines and newspapers, some databases also include eBooks, dissertations, and more.

If you know the subject area you need, select it below to see recommended databases for that subject. If you need a specific content type - biographies, book reviews, news - select that type from the second drop-down in the Articles A-Z database list

If you know databases by name, you can find them in the A-Z database list.

If you have a Wilson Public Library card, you can access NC Live databases through NCLive.org.

You can also search for scholarly articles via Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Search

To find credible websites, use the Google Advanced Search guide

View the video

Online Research: Tips For Effective Search Strategies

To cite sources, use the Citation Builders page of the Citation Styles: MLA & APA guide.

Watch the video “How to Use Wikipedia Wisely” created by the Stanford History Education Group (SHEG) based in Stanford’s Graduate School of Education.